15 Days Trial Run of Electric Buses In Chandigarh Commences


Chandigarhians are in for a treat with Smart City projects all lined up to start. 

A 15-day trial run of the electric bus in Chandigarh has been introduced on Wednesday. The bus started from the PGIMER and was driven to and fro IT Park in Manimajra.

The 9-meter electric bus, with a seating capacity of 26 passengers, was operated without passengers as it did not have the permit to carry passengers. 

A detailed report will be prepared after the trial run to know how much charging time is required to ply the bus, and what distance it runs on that charge. The battery size of the bus and its output will also be examined after the trail run.

The CTU had been in touch with different companies which have been adopting different non-polluting technologies in their buses. The bus is said to cost about Rs 1.5 crore, out of which 60% (Rs 90 lakh) is the cost of the battery. The Centre is also providing subsidy to introduce zero-emission retrofitted electric buses.


The operational cost of the bus is said to be lesser than the normal bus. It also has facilities like a closed-circuit television (CCTV) camera, a public address system and firefighting equipment.



Source: Hindustan Times

Image Credits: Google Images

Previous articleWork On Two Major Projects In Sector 17 Under Smart City To Begin From June 25
Next articlePrisoner Threw Chilly Powder On Policemen & Escapes From General Hospital In Panchkula

A woman with varied interests, from geeky technology to serene poetry, but with a solitary passion to play with words. Ratisha is educated in sociology, psychology and human rights, that has sensitized her well to talk about all topics of human concern. She has been writing for many nationally and internationally acclaimed e-magazines and news portals including The Huffington Post, (United States) among others. When not writing, she is either found brushing strokes on a canvas or peering through her glasses into a novel.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here